The Waverley Novels Quick Summary

The Waverley Novels are a long series of books by Sir Walter Scott. For nearly a century they were among the most popular and widely-read novels in all of Europe. Because he did not publicly acknowledge authorship until 1827, they take their name from Waverley (1814), which was the first.

The later books bore the words “by the author of Waverley” on their title pages. More loosely, the term is used to refer to all of his novels. The Tales of my Landlord series was not advertised as “by the author of Waverley” and thus is not always included in this list.

Title, Date Published, [Main Setting, Period]

Waverley, or, Tis Sixty Years Since, 1814, [Perthshire (Scotland), 1745-1746]

Guy Mannering, or, The Astrologer, 1815, [Galloway (Scotland), 1760-5, 1781-2]

The Antiquary, 1816, [Angus (Scotland), 1790s]

Tales of My Landlord, 1st series:

The Black Dwarf, 1816, [Scottish Borders, 1707]

The Tale of Old Mortality, 1816, [Southern Scotland, 1679-89]

Rob Roy, 1818, [Loch Lomond (Scotland), 1715-16]

Tales of my Landlord, 2nd series:

The Heart of Midlothian, 1818, [Edinburgh/Richmond, London, 1736]

Tales of my Landlord, 3rd series:

The Bride of Lammermoor, 1819, [East Lothian (Scotland), 1709-11]

A Legend of Montrose, 1819, [Scottish Highlands, 1644-5]

Ivanhoe, 1819, [Yorkshire/Leicestershire, 1194]

The Monastery, 1820, [Scottish Borders, 1547-57]

The Abbot, 1820, [Various in Scotland, 1567-8]

Kenilworth, 1821, [Southern England, 1575]

The Pirate, 1822, [Shetland/Orkney, late 17th cent.]

The Fortunes of Nigel, 1822, [London/Greenwich, 1616-18]

Peveril of the Peak, 1822, [Derbyshire/Isle of Man/London, 1658-80]

Quentin Durward, 1823, [Tours/Péronne (France), Liège (Wallonia/Belgium), 1468]

St. Ronan’s Well, 1824, [Southern Scotland, 1800s]

Redgauntlet, 1824, [Southern Scotland/Cumberland, 1766]

Tales of the Crusaders:

The Betrothed, 1825, [Wales/Gloucester, 1187-92]

The Talisman, 1825, [Syria, 1191]

Woodstock, or, The Cavalier, 1826, [Woodstock/Windsor/Brussels/Spanish Netherlands, 1652]

Chronicles of the Canongate, 1st series:(Short Stories)

The Highland Widow, The Two Drovers, The Surgeon’s Daughter (1827

Chronicles of the Canongate, 2nd series:(Novel)

St Valentine’s Day, or, The Fair Maid of Perth, 1828, [Perthshire (Scotland), 1396]

Anne of Geierstein, or, The Maiden in the Mist, 1829, [Switzerland/ Eastern France, 1474-77]

Tales of my Landlord, 4th series:

Count Robert of Paris, 1831, [Constantinople/Scutari(Turkey), 1097]

Castle Dangerous, 1831, [Kirkcudbrightshire (Scotland), 1307]

Browse Walter Scott books For Sale
If you have a Set or Part Set For Sale, why not email me at;

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *