Hammond Innes Collection (23)

Hammond Innes Collection (23)

Hammond Innes (1913 – 1998) was a British novelist who wrote over 30 novels. During the second world war, a number of his books were published, including Wreckers Must Breathe (1940), The Trojan Horse (1941) and Attack Alarm (1941); the last of which was based on his experiences as an anti-aircraft gunner during the Battle of Britain at RAF Kenley. After being demobbed in 1946, he worked full-time as a writer, achieving a number of early successes. His novels are notable for a fine attention to accurate detail in descriptions of places, such as in Air Bridge (1951), set partially at RAF Gatow, RAF Membury after its closure and RAF Wunstorf during the Berlin Airlift. Innes went on to produce books in a regular sequence, with six months of travel and research followed by six months of writing. Many of his works featured events at sea. Unusually for the thriller genre, Innes’ protagonists were often not “heroes” in the typical sense, but ordinary men suddenly thrust into extreme situations by circumstance. Often, this involved being placed in a hostile environment (the Arctic, the open sea, deserts), or unwittingly becoming involved in a larger conflict or conspiracy. The protagonist generally is forced to rely on his own wits and making best use of limited resources, rather than the weapons and gadgetry commonly used by thriller writers.

The Strange Land
The Angry Mountain
Golden Soak
The Land God Gave To Cain
The Strode Venturer
Atlantic Fury
The White South
Campbell’s Kingdom
Killer Mine
The Lonely Skier
Levkas Man
Air Bridge
The Trojan Horse
The Mary Deare
Dead And Alive
Wreckers Must Breathe
Sea And Islands
Harvest Of Journeys
Attack Alarm
North Star
The Doomed Oasis
Maddon’s Rock
The Blue Ice

Browse Heron Books For Sale
If you have a Set or Part Set For Sale, why not email me at; sales@hcbooksonline.com

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *