Posted on Leave a comment

Anthony Trollope – Oxford World’s Classics Edition

Anthony Trollope – Oxford World’s Classics Edition

Trollope and Oxford University go back a long way – to 1907, in fact, when the first Trollope novel was published in the fondly-remembered hardback World’s Classics series. The Three Clerks was followed 11 years later by The Warden, then by a further 41 titles, the majority appearing in the 20s and 30s, right up until the late 1950s. The then Oxford publisher, Sir Humphrey Milford, was a great enthusiast, and it is not too much to say that he was chiefly responsible for the resurrection of Trollope’s reputation as a serious writer with the general reader.

A List of Titles in Numerical Order

140 The Three Clerks
217 The Warden
239 An Autobiography
251 The Belton Estate
252 The Claverings
268 Barchester Towers
272 The Vicar of Bullhampton
278 Miss Mackenzie
279 Rachel Ray
298 Doctor Thorne
305 Framley Parsonage
317 Doctor Wortle’s School
336 Sir Harry Hotspur of Humblethwaite
341 The Kellys and the O’Kellys
343 Cousin Henry
342 Ayala’s Angel
357 The Eustace Diamonds
391 The American Senator
397 Tales of All Countries First Series
398 The Last Chronicle of Barset
423/424 Orley Farm
443 Lady Anna
444 An Old Man’s Love
447/478 Phineas Finn
450/451 Phineas Redux
454/455 The Prime Minister
462 The Duke’s Children
468/469 Can You Forgive Her?
472 The Small House at Allington
475/476 Ralph the Heir
484 The Way We Live Now
492 Is He Popenjoy?
502 John Caldigate
503 Mr. Scarborough’s Family
504 The Golden Lion of Granpere
505 Nina Balatka and Linda Tressel
507 He Knew He Was Right

Known Titles with so far unknown numbers

The Bertrams
Castle Richmond
Early Short Stories
Later Short Stories

Possible other titles

The Fixed Period
The Landleaguers
An Eye for an Eye
Harry Heathcote of Gangoil
Jones and Robinson
La Vendée
The MacDermots of Ballycloran
The Struggles of Brown

Search Anthony Trollope’s books at Heron Books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *